Construction Manager of the Year Awards shortlist revealed

30 July 2018 | By Neil Gerrard

Pictured: Margaret Conway of McAleer & Rushe was named overall winner at CMYA 2017

The shortlist for the Construction Manager of the Year Awards 2018 has been revealed.

A total of 63 of the best construction managers in the UK have been named in the shortlists for nine categories. 

They will be whittled down to a winner in each category, as well as one overall winner, when the awards are presented at a glittering ceremony at the Grosvenor House hotel in London on 24 October.

This year is the 40th anniversary of the Construction Manager of the Year Awards, run by the Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB) every year since 1978.

The awards celebrate extraordinary individuals who go above and beyond to deliver buildings that make a positive impact on the lives of the people who use them.

The announcement of the finalists for each category follows a rigorous assessment process which sees the CMYA judges assess paper applications, as well as conducting site visits and panel interviews.

To book a table at this year's awards, click here

Primary education

Haydn Boyce - WRW Construction
John Campbell - McLaughlin & Harvey
James Fryer - ISG Construction
Hadley Hands - Dawnus Construction Holdings
Neil Locke - Willmott Dixon Construction
Richard Molyneux - Willmott Dixon Construction
Andy Walsham - Morgan Sindall
David Wright - Morrison Construction

Secondary education

Danny Buckley - Morgan Sindall Construction & Infrastructure
Matt Crookes - BAM Construction
Declan Doherty - Farrans
Brian Hanlon - Willmott Dixon Construction
Stephen Lee - Kier Construction
Mel McMahon - Farrans Construction
Andrew Ryan - Shaylor Group
Andy Shepherd - Kier Construction


Phillip Brooks - Willmott Dixon Construction
Simon Cook - Willmott Dixon Construction
Martin Haigh - WRW Construction
Karl Jordan - Gilbert-Ash
Matthew Kemp - Willmott Dixon Construction
Aidan McCarron - McAleer & Rushe Contracts UK
Brian Oatley Berkeley Homes (East Thames)
Paul Purser - Kier Construction
David Rowell - Willmott Dixon Construction
Jonathan Watkins - Henry Boot Construction


Noel Carson - Kier Construction
Darren Hancock - Willmott Dixon Construction
Chris Harrison - Mace
Terry Kirby - Berkeley Homes (East Thames)
Eamonn Laverty - McAleer & Rushe UK
John Laycock - Wates Construction
Graham Marshall - McCarthy & Stone Retirement Lifestyles
Alan McGinley - Berkeley Homes (East Thames)
Eamon Melia - Berkeley Homes (East Thames)

Refurbishment/Fit out

Colin Betts - Motte Baily
Mark Lazenby - Laing O'Rourke Construction North
Eugene McCormick - Sir Robert McAlpine
Mike Perera - Kier Construction London
Richard Purcell - Willmott Dixon Interiors
Adrian Roach - WRW Construction


Allan Cameron - Sir Robert McAlpine
David Wells - Mace
Dominic Hattee - Wates Construction
Jamie Cassidy - McAleer & Rushe Contracts UK
John Rabey - Bam Construction

Public & Infrastructure

Malcolm Boyd - BAM Construct UK
Adrian Coleman - Willmott Dixon Construction
Paul Limb - Morgan Sindall
Neil Lock - Wates Construction
David McMahon - CCG (Scotland)
Jon Staley - Kier Construction London

Higher education

Alan Bell - BAM Construction
Nigel Harris - Willmott Dixon
Lianne Lawson - Interserve Construction
Andrew McTavish - Kier Construction
Dave Nott - Wates
Jamie O’Shea - Bouygues
Ian Rainbow - BAM Construct UK


Jason Bamford - Interserve Construction
Matthew Coleman - Osborne
Sean McNicholas - Willmott Dixon Construction
Ruth Wells - Ridge

Leave a comment