New Year’s Honours list recognises construction leaders

3 January 2020 | By CM staff

Several high-profile figures from the world of construction have been recognised in the 2020 New Year’s Honours list.

Professor John Nolan, former chairman of the Construction Industry Council (CIC) and past president of the Institution of Structural Engineers, has been awarded a CBE for services to structural engineering and the construction industry.

Nolan, also director of John Nolan Associates, has been part of working groups established to inform the Hackitt independent review. He has also been working with the Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB), among others, on reviewing competencies within the construction industry, as part of a CIC-led project to support standards and professionalism within the industry.

Caroline Gumble, the CIOB’s CEO, said: “I would like to offer the CIOB’s congratulations to John on his award. He has been a long-standing champion of the industry and, more importantly, an ally over many years in efforts to promote professionalism and drive up standards. This acknowledgment of his work is well deserved.”

Peter Hansford has also been honoured with a CBE for services to innovation in civil engineering. He was president of the Institution of Civil Engineers and a former chief construction adviser to the government and has worked with the CIOB to promote skills and talent in the industry.

Meanwhile Margaret Beels, chair of the Gangmasters and Labour Abuse Authority (GLAA), has also been awarded an OBE. She has been given the honour for services to tackling and preventing modern slavery and labour exploitation. In a statement, the CIOB, which has worked with the GLAA to raise the profile of modern slavery in the construction industry and the efforts to tackle it said: “Having this issue acknowledged in the Honours list is important recognition of those promoting efforts to tackle modern slavery.”

Yewande Mayomi-Akinola, principal engineer at Laing O’Rourke, was awarded an MBE for services to engineering and diversity in STEM design and innovation.

Professor Philip Jones, chair of the Low-Carbon Institute, gained an OBE for services to decarbonisation and architecture.

Corienne Peasgood, principal of City College in Norwich won an OBE for services to safeguarding and construction skills in Norfolk, while John White, director of Southward Construction Skills Centre won an MBE for services to the community in south London, and Richard Elam, director of Evora Construction, which is based on ethical practices, was awarded a British Empire Medal for services to business and the community in York.

A full copy of the New Year’s Honours list can be found at:

Leave a comment